Welcome to

 
 


About FRWG.ORG

 

    Discover More

      

       New Tech

       Traditional Tech

       Emerging Tech

       Multi-Tech

       Companies

       Products

       Gas

       Oil

       Liquids

       Regions

       Measurement

       Geometry

       Philosophy

       Jeans



    Follow Us

   

 

FlowTime Clock ...
What flowtime is it?

Time displayed is Flowtime.

Second Meeting for FRWG to be held June 21, 2017, at 1:00 p.m.

We are planning to have our second meeting at the CEESI North American Custody Transfer Conference in San Antonio, Texas that is being held from June 19-21, 2017. Members should have already received notice via email and US postal mail, or you can also visit the CEESI website at www.ceesi.com. We are planning to meet at 1:00 p.m. on June 21 at the conclusion of the conference. If you are unable to attend this meeting, thatís fine. I realize that not everyone will be there. We plan to conduct our discussions mainly by email, in any case.

If you are a member of the FRWG and cannot attend, but someone else from your company is attending, please ask if they can attend in your place.  This worked well last year.  Thank you for making this effort.

The main focus of this meeting will be the end-user survey that we decided to conduct at our initial meeting.  You should have received a draft of this survey, so please submit any comments unless you already have.  Thank you.

First Meeting for FRWG to be held June 23 at 1:00 p.m.

We are planning to have our first meeting at the CEESI North American Custody Transfer Conference in San Antonio, Texas that is being held from June 21 -23, 2016. Details will soon be forthcoming via email, or you can also visit the CEESI website at www.ceesi.com. We are planning to meet at 1:00 p.m. on June 23 at the conclusion of the conference. If you are unable to attend this meeting, thatís fine. I realize that not everyone wlll be there. We plan to conduct our discussions mainly by email, in any case.


Flow Recalibration Working Group (FRWG)

The purpose of this group is to arrive at a group of criteria that end-users can employ to determine if their flowmeters need to be recalibrated.  This does not necessarily equate to a specific time interval.  Instead, the goal is to have some tests, programs, or criteria that can be run to determine when a flowmeter needs to be recalibrated. 

The idea for this group came out of a series of in-person interviews I did with end-users of flowmeters in the Middle East in 2009.  I interviewed 15 companies from Oman Saudi Arabia , Qatar , and the UAE about their use of flowmeters.  Many of them expressed frustration that there was no generally agreed upon interval when their ultrasonic flowmeters need to be recalibrated.  There was also the fact that at that time there was no recalibration facility in the Middle East .  These people asked me if I could help them arrive at a standard.  I said that I would do what I could.

Since that time I have spoken to the AGA, which seems to have no interest in taking on this subject.  One positive development is that Emerson Process has built a flow calibration facility in Abu Dhabi , but it is currently limited to four inch liquid recalibrations.  Some countries have instituted their own rules about calibration frequency, but these periods vary and seem to differ on a country by country basis.

The series of six studies that Flow Research did in 2012 on gas flow measurement grew out of the Middle East interviews. We are now researching a new edition of this series. Currently, Flow Research is conducting a worldwide study of the calibration facilities for liquid and gas recalibration.  So far we have identified 125 such facilities.  We have completed a questionnaire that we plan to send to them.  The study will include a description of the capabilities of the various facilities worldwide.  We also plan to cover flowmeter manufacturers that recalibrate flowmeters, and also mobile calibration facilities.  We are doing separate studies on liquid and gas recalibration.  I think that these studies should be a valuable database of information for our committee work.  You can find a description of these studies at www.flowcalibration.org.

This committee is strictly a volunteer effort, and so far has no official sanction.  However, my hope is that if we do succeed in coming up with a usable set of recalibration guidelines, we can approach some of the organizations like AGA and API for approval of the guidelines.  Short of this, we can publish our report and circulate it among interested manufacturers and end-users.  Since no one has to my knowledge attempted this before, I think the results will be met with quite a lot of interest.

So far, the following people have volunteered to be on this committee:

Dr. Jesse Yoder (Flow Research) (jesse@flowresearch.com)

Tom Ballard (GE Measurement) (Thomas.ballard@ge.com)

Peter Brand (Avans Hogeschool Tilburg) (peter@sparckxconsulting.com)

Dr. Gregor Brown (Cameron) (gbrown18@slb.cameron.com)

Bob Carrell (Hoffer Flow Controls) (bcarrell@hofferflow.com)

Joel Clancy (CEESI) (jclancy@ceesi.com)

Terry Cousins (CEESI Measurement Solutions) (tcousins@ceesims.com)

Pankaj Gupta (GAIL India Limited) (pk_gupta@gail.co.in)

Thomas Boy Jacobsen (FORCE Technology) (tyj@force.dk)

Dr. Aaron Johnson (NIST) (aaron.johnson@nist.gov)

Dr. Tom Kegel (CEESI) (tkegel@ceesi.com)

Tom Kemme (Magnetrol) (tkemme@magnetrol.com)

Dick Laan (Krohne Altometer) (d.laan@krohne.com)  

John Lansing (Lansing Measurement Services LLC) (sonicjohn@earthlink.net)

Dr. Phil Mark (TUV SUD Ltd.) (phil.mark@tuv-nel.co.uk)

Tom OíBanion (Micro Motion) (tom.obanion@emerson.com)

Didier Pabois (Faure Herman, Groupe IDEX) (dpabois@idexcorp.com)

Dean Standiford (Emerson Process Management) (dean.standiford@emerson.com)

Wilhelm Staudt (Endress+Hauser Flowtec AG) (Wilhelm.Staudt@flowtec.endress.com)

Steve Stewart (Oil & Gas Process Solutions) (Steve.stewart@flowmd.com)

Remco van den Berg (VSL b.v.) (RvdBerg@vsl.nl)

Eric van Doorn (ODS Metering Systems BV) (Eric.vandoorn@kloeckner.com)

The first task of the committee was to formulate criteria for determining when an inline multipath ultrasonic custody transfer needs to be recalibrated.  This included running a software program, using a check meter, running diagnostics, doing dry calibration, or any other method that may be effective.  We then addressed other types of ultrasonic flowmeters, as well as other flowmeter types such as turbine, differential pressure with different primary elements, vortex, magnetic, and thermal. 

Jesse Yoder
President, Flow Research


Articles About Calibration Topics


Also see:

www.FlowCalibration.org


 

 

 

 
 
Flow Research, Inc. | 27 Water Street | Wakefield, MA 01880 | (781) 245-3200 | (781) 224-7552 (fax) | (800) 245-1799 (from the USA) | info@flowresearch.com

Hit Counter